October 24 – December 30, 2012

The Sobey Art Award is the pre-eminent award for contemporary Canadian art. Established in 2002, the Sobey Art Award celebrates new advances in contemporary art with the intention of inspiring public interest and shining a spotlight on the best of this country’s young artists. A total of $70,000 is awarded each year to Canadian artists age 40 or under. The prize fund of $50,000 is awarded to the winner with $5,000 being awarded to each of the other shortlisted artists. Previous winners include: Daniel Young and Christian Giroux, Daniel Barrow, David Altmejd, Tim Lee, Michel de Broin, Annie Pootoogook, Jean-Pierre Gauthier and Brian Jungen. The Sobey Art Award is administered by the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia on behalf of the Sobey Art Foundation. The annual Award is sponsored by the Sobey Art Foundation and art transportation sponsor, Total Transportation Solutions Inc. The official hotel of the 10th anniversary of the Sobey Art Award is the Gladstone Hotel.

Gareth Moore/ Jason de Haan/ Derek Sullivan/ Raphaëlle de Groot/ Eleanor King Curated by Sarah Fillmore, Curator of the Sobey Art Award and Chief Curator at the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia

Installation Shots

Opening Reception

Saturday October 27, 8 – 10 pm


The $50,000 Sobey Art Award winner will be announced November 16 in a special 10th Anniversary gala at MOCCA.


SobeyArtAward-logo1     Total Transportation Solutions Inc.